You Can {DIY} Easy Mini Pies – Yummy!

I just found my friend/Zumba teacher’s excellent bloggy all about local/whole/organic food, fashion, and life. LOVE IT! Check out The Chic Life, here!

I was so inspired by her “Heart-Shaped Mini Pies”, that I had to try it out… well sort of… I made a few changes

Yummy looking right? Diana’s look so much better, but these tasted soooo good! Kendall and I each had one after dinner, although she ate a few extra bits of mine and Grammy’s too!

You want to make them, you should, totally easy! Don’t forget I changed some stuff, so check out the original back at The Chic Life!

What you need: (Total time, about an hour… with a little girl hanging on your leg… maybe less if your tot is not in the kitchen)

  • Pie crust (I used Betty Crocker – why mess with a good thing), and flour for rolling out
  • Strawberries (I had two big containers – next time I’ll only use 1.5) 
  • Small bag of almonds
  • 1 jar of jelly (any flavor will do – I used peach)
  • Sugar (I only had little Splinda packs which worked out fine – used 3)
  • 1 egg
  • Nutella (so hard to get into the little pies – but used it on a bigger one not shown)

Step 1: Follow directions on pie box to make crust – put in fridge (easier to work with)

Step 2: Cut strawberries into little bits, mix with 3/4 of jelly, and almonds (Filling)

Step 3: Roll out pie crust very thin – cut with drinking glass into little circles. 

NOTE: I had to use two sizes, smaller for the bottom, and larger for the top. (This way you can put more filling into your pies!)

 

 

 

Step 4: Adding filling to pie crust, and top with (larger) circle of pie crust. Pinch down to seal together. I used a fork to make the nice design around the edges and a knife to mark it with an “X”. 

Step 5: Beat egg, glaze pies with egg, top with sugar. (Next time I’m going to use a little brush… would have make that a bit easier.) 

Step 6: Put it in the oven for… baby and me! Cook at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes, or till its golden brown.

Yummy! You should really treat yourself…. you have been soooo good! 

Posted on February 24, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

