We Make It {Week 1}

Yes! We made it a whole week without sugar, grains, dairy and legumes! 

I’m sure your first question is, “How did you do?” followed up with, “Was it hard?”… right! If I were to rate myself on how well I did, I would have to say that would easily get a 9.8 out of a 10 point scale. I did stay away from all sugars which was very hard when someone brings these to work:

Ok – So one of the most essential things I did was planning. First, I did a deep clean of my fridge (thanks to Megan for the idea)! Next, I used my calendar, and shopping guide to plan out all means that I wanted to cook. Look how easy:

  

Note: If I wanted to go out for dinner, I planned ahead by checking the menu online and picking out what I wanted to eat before getting to the restaurant.

Fail: Nikki and I went out to dinner one night prior to working out. Everything on the menu looked amazing, I ordered shrimp, mixed vegetables, and avocado for dinner. Sounds good right? Well, the veggies were amazing (although it had little bits of corn in it, which is not allowed), and I’m pretty sure it was cooked in butter. Bummer! Second, the scrimp was fried (totally did not think to ask how it was prepared). Good news is that this was my only slip for the week… so I still give myself a 9.8 out of 10!

“Was it hard?” was your next question. Yes, and no… planning made it so much easier!!! However, the cake at PawPaws birthday party was SOOOO SOOO hard to say no to… but I did!

Cooking and Eating: It was so much easier going to the grocery store with a list of what I wanted to buy. It took all the guessing out, and I did not forget anything (which I usually do). Big hint: I shopped around the perimeter of the store first and found 90% of what I wanted to purchase. Whoop whoop! Of course I had to pick up other snacked and stuff for Stephan and Kendall, so I did have other off-limit items in my cart! Good news, my weekly bill for groceries was about $25 bucks less than I normally spend!!!

So, you want to know what I cooked? Here were a few of my favs:

  • Wild salmon*, carrots, and greenbeans
  • Tomato soup (with extra roasted tomatoes), and avocado slices
  • Pork tenderloin with broccoli and a side of fresh fruit
  • Chef salad with chicken, carrots, tomato, cucumber, sunflower seed, with balsamicvinegar as the dressing
  • Scrambled eggs with spinach, tomato, garlic, and mushrooms
  • Scrimp stir-fry with tomato, sugar snapped peas, sesemey seeds, garlic, and carrots

*Wild salmon means that I was caught in its natural habitat, and ate it’s natural food source. They tend to be more orange in color and about the same price as organic salmon. It was so good!

For smacks I loved pistachios, grapes, and sliced avocado/tomato with balsamic vinegar!

Here are a few pictures I snapped during my lunch break:

  

Feeling: Feeling great, like I could really do this all month. Here is a short run down:

Better sleep patterns: No, not really.

Increase in energy levels: Absolutely!

Less breakouts: About the same.

Faster recovery time after exercising: Yes, although I still get tired during my workouts.

Clothes fitting better: About the same.

Bowel movements: All floaters! Yes, really!

 

Well, I’ll leave you on that happy thought! Thanks for reading, and be sure to check out week two next Thursday!

 

 

Posted on March 8, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

