More on Eating Healthy

As part of my new years resolution, I told myself I was going to start eating healthy{er} and try to get this baby weight off.  Now that we are out of January (which is the hardest month to keep up with your resolution… in my option), I thought I would take some time to reflect on my progress:

For the entire month of January I kicked started my system by eliminating unhealthy or fatty foods like any processed foods, alcohol, grains, legumes, dairy, and sugar.  I would say that this was 90% of my diet before, but surprisingly I feel like now my meals are more balanced and naturally more nutrient-dense! Yes, the first week doing this was very hard, but now it has almost become an instinct to choose healthy foods at the store or eating out.

Talking about eating out. I took the “Eat In Month” Challenge and I’m proud to say that I only ate one meals out (for my mother in Law’s Birthday) and one snack out.  I know this saved us a good bit of money, so I wanted to run some numbers to see approximately how much money I can now spend on purses and shoes:

  • Cost of *total food/beverages for the month of November 2012:$1,669.03
  • Cost of *total food/beverages for the month of January 2013: $495.55
  • Amount saved: $1,173.48

*Food and beverages purchased at grocery store and eating out

Yeah for eating in (saving money) and eating healthy! The best part about it is that my body feels great over the last month I have lost a little over 5 pounds and increased my lean mass!

  • December: Weight 138.8, Lean mass 98.41, Fat mass 40.39
  • January: Weight 133, Lean mass 103.51, Fat mass 30.49

I’m still not at my pre-pregnancy weight but getting a lot closer!!! My new goal is to get it all off by the end of February, but if I don’t that is okay too because I know I’ll still feel good! Cheers to another healthy month!

Thanks for reading,

Signiture with Heart

Posted on February 7, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

